Modern Market

So yesterday I was introduced to a little place called Modern Market….Where has this restaurant been my entire life? It is a casual homestyle restaurant with options for nearly everyone.   The meals are prepared on site from scratch.  On the paleo diet? No problem.  Gluten free? No problem Dairy free? No Problem Vegan? Vegetarian?  You get the point.  I was excited to see the half and half menu.  Everything looked so good.  I thought I would start with a half pizza, gluten-free of course, and a half salad.  Then I saw the soups.  I changed my mind three times in sixty seconds but my cashier was so patient.  Everyone was really.  In fact my companion went back and changed her order minutes after we paid and it was no problem at all.  With that menu I imagine they get a lot of indecisive customers.

I went to the Bethesda location which had only been open for two days.  Outside of the balloons outside, you wouldn’t know.  It fit right in like it had been in the community for decades.  The staff worked together like family and the already huge customer base raved about the grand opening and of course the food.  I met several people who had already visited Modern Market multiple times in the two days it had been open.  After I ate, it was very clear to me why.  After getting over my indecision, I decided on the Flat Iron Steak salad.  The salad consisted of mixed greens, flank steak, roasted potatoes, carmelized onions, gorgonzola, and a balsamic vinaigrette.  That salad haunted my dreams last night.  I woke up wanting to get back to Modern Market to try breakfast this morning.  Unfortunately I knew I wouldn’t pass one in my travels.

I am anxious to get back and try other menu items.  I didn’t take a picture of my salad but it looked identical to the website photo. ( www.modernmarket.com )That rarely happens.  Next time I go, I will slow down and take a picture before I dig in.  I couldn’t help myself.  Go see for yourself.

Leave a Reply

