Healthy Decor

Fresh flowers are one of the easiest ways to brighten a room. Nearly five years ago I made the decision to always keep fresh flowers in the house. Not only did the flowers transform every room they were in but they also put me at peace.  Even the upkeep relaxed me; changing the water, trimming the stems and leaves.  I kept this up for a while.  Then life got in the way as it tends to do.  I didn’t always make time to purchase flowers.  When I didn’t I could fall back on bouquets that were occasionally gifted to me as well as my garden; depending on the season.  That too came to a halt.

That’s when I realized I could get the same satisfaction from something that is always in the house, fruit.  I filled my crystal with fruit and put it on display.  Just like the flowers, the fruit brightened the room and improved my mood.  Red or green apples, tangerines, mangos, lemons, or limes; whatever was in the fridge went out on display.

Additionally, the decor encouraged me to eat fruit rather than cake.  For me it was a win win.  There are no candy dishes in my home.  However, my guests are welcomed to whatever fruit is on display.

Leave a Reply

