Homemade Body Butter

Some months ago I decided that I would start making my own health and beauty products. My plan was to make homemade body butter, deodorant, and toothpaste. I came up with my ingredient list. I even purchased the ingredients. Then life got in the way. Well I finally got around to my first trial. This is how it went.

PhotoGrid_1457036717292
I decided I would attempt body butter first. The ingredient list was simple. I would use natural shea butter as my base. I would add an oil to loosen the texture and an essential oil for scent. I decided to try castor oil and lavender for this first go round.

PhotoGrid_1457036745965PhotoGrid_1457036775920
I started by boiling water. I would use the boiling water to loosen the shea butter. That way it would be easier to mix. Since it was my first attempt I decided to only make a little. I scooped four large tablespoons of shea butter into a glass jar and placed the jar in the boiling water.  Be careful not to leave it to long like I did.  I left it for three minutes.  It turned into oil.

PhotoGrid_1457036806386PhotoGrid_1457036837466

No worries though.  I added one large tablespoon of castor oil to the shea butter and three drops of lavender essential oil.  Then I mixed the ingredients and waited for them to solidify.  Of course I couldn’t wait.  I put some oil on my skin immediately and it felt glorious.  It still feels glorious and the scent is so relaxing.  This is so easy.  Why did I ever pay $20 for body butter with mystery ingredients.  From now on, I will be making my body butter at home.

PhotoGrid_1457036891612PhotoGrid_1457039453865

It took about a half hour for the consistency to change from an oil to a butter.

Leave a Reply

