1 to 1 Gluten Free Flour

I did some baking today and I have to say I am not a huge fan of this 1 to 1 baking flour.  I did like the texture and density but it gave my blueberry muffins an odd almost nutty flavor.

PhotoGrid_1456009636455PhotoGrid_1456009683824

I also made peanut butter cookies.  Of course the nutty flavor of the flour didn’t have an adverse effect on the cookies.  I have also used this baking flour for frying batter. It served that purpose just fine.

PhotoGrid_1456009752876
I don’t think I will be buying this particular flour again though. Based on this experience I could probably use it solely for my peanut butter cookies or banana nut bread.  It may work for brownies.  I don’t know if I will bother trying though.  I will probably use what’s remaining for banana pancakes.  I think the nutty flavor will be fine in banana pancakes.  I may need to stick to rice flour for my gluten free baking needs. The rice flour has not failed me yet.

Update: As expected the nutty flavor worked well in my banana pancakes.  Bananas are both in the batter and on top.

PhotoGrid_1456065110173

Leave a Reply

