Sleep Deprivation

I'd rather be sleeping.
I’d rather be sleeping.

Self employment has destroyed my sleeping patterns.  I used to wake up and go to bed at the same time every day; no alarm clock required.  No I find myself working all hours of the day and night.  It has completely thrown my sleep patterns through a loop.

A few months ago I discovered the nap.  It was glorious! I had no idea what I had been missing.  Since it is sometimes hard to sleep when I need to, naps help.  If I feel one coming on and I can take a break, I do.  It is amazing the boost I get from a ten to thirty minute nap.  The problem is I rarely get a full nights sleep.

I think the naps are to blame.  How can something that makes me feel so good turn around and make me feel like crap? From what I see, the problem is….I actually don’t know what the problem is.  What I do know is my body needs rest.  If it’s only in ten to thirty minute increments so be it.  That’s better than nothing at all.  I imagine at some point my sleep pattern will evolve.  Until then I will take it when I can get it.

Leave a Reply

