When Retail Therapy Lets You Down

Sometimes retail therapy fails miserably.  It doesn’t happen often but when it does, it stings.  My favorite stores have been gearing me up with incentives to visit.  It’s standard behavior this time of year.  Personally, I prefer online shopping but I can be swayed to shop in store.

Last week I set aside time to go through the offers I received.  I decided which stores I would visit and when.  Today was DSW day.  I love shopping  DSW online.  I do occasionally find things in store.  Online is my sweet spot though.  DSW recently sent me a rewards certificate and a coupon that I was ready to use online.  Then they sent me this.

20151209_180622-1

SOLD! I will see you in store.  It would certainly be worth the trip for brownies.  Just look at the picture; chocolate fudge, candy cane crunch, black and white, and pumpkin caramel crumb cake.  Oh my!

Long story short, not only did I not find one item to spend my rewards certificate on but after whispers between staff I was told they didn’t have the brownies.  They were very nice though.  They even offered to ship me brownies once they came in.  The disappointment threw off my morning though.  I was so excited to get my brownies.  I even talked about it during my morning exercise class.  I just knew I would be leaving class and enjoying a novelty brownie.  Instead I went home and made my own brownies which took nearly an hour.  I wanted instant gratification brownies, not forever brownies.

I couldn’t wait any longer.  I cut a brownie while hot.  I knew it would crumble but I was tired of waiting.  As I ate my brownie crumbs, I received notification of another retail fail.  It was an email stating my online order that I placed a day before with a different store was no longer available.  The email went on to tell me I wouldn’t be charged for the order.  Well I would hope not! I never understood how these retailers could take online orders, send you confirmation of the order, and then come back days later saying items aren’t available.  It’s bad business.

I think the universe is telling me shopping isn’t really therapy.  Lately it’s been more stressful than calming.  Maybe it’s time to go back to the basics.  Cooking usually puts me in a good mind space.  Working out has been a good stress reliever too.  Maybe it’s time to trade in that retail therapy for something more physical.  I may revisit retail therapy but for now I think I will take a break.

Leave a Reply

