Traditional Neutrals

Last month I discussed “the new neutral.” Today I would like to take a moment to discuss the traditional neutrals. Traditionally, variations of cream, tan, and biege could be used to create a very clean look. This is still true. There are ways, however, to add edge to these clean looks.

I do this by adding non traditional cuts and texture. If you have been following me, you know that I love texture. Let’s start with cut though.  Below I have a traditional pencil skirt in a vegan leather.  The skirt is by Blaque Label.  I decided to pair it with a bell sleeve crop top by re:named to give the look an edge.

20150410_195053-1

This top adds an edge to anything it’s paired with.  It’s neutral but in no way is it boring.

20150410_194300-1-1

The other technique I mentioned was texture.  Below I have another look composed of neutrals.  This time I used a ribbed dress to make this look pop.

20150501_173613-1

The dress is by Calvin Klein.  It comes with a belt but switching the belt would be another way to stand out.  This time I used the original belt.  I added a Michael Kors sweater and a statement necklace.

20150501_173739-1

Here’s a tip.  Don’t be afraid to mix different shades of white.  It adds layers to your look and is ultimately very stylish.

Leave a Reply

