Elongate Your Legs

Photo1355-1~2This is for my my petite readers as well as my readers with petite friends.  I am five feet four inches aspiring to be five feet six inches.  So you know I am all about tips and tricks to help me pull off a longer look.  I have a few simple tips that help me pull of that endless leg look.

Over the years I’ve been told that long skirts elongate the legs.  I find the opposite to be true.  I love a long skirt.  I often wear maxis and midis.  Though, I don’t see them doing anything that resembles elongating my legs.  When I’m trying to achieve that long leggy look, I go for a skirt that hits above the knee.

Here’s where people typically miss the mark, shoes.  Didn’t know shoes have a bearing on the portrayal of the length of your legs? They do.  I love the ankle strap trend that will be everywhere this Spring.  Trust me.  I love to look at it, not wear it.  I bought the most beautiful black suede laser cut ankle strap sandals by Calvin Klein.  I bought them because they were beautiful and the price was right.  However they cut into my long leg dreams.  I listed and sold them on my ebay page ( http://www.ebay.com/usr/1srboutique ) hopefully to a woman taller than 5’4″.

So now you know one item on my “do” list, above the knee skirt and two items on my “don’t” list, ankle strap shoes and long skirts.  Keep in mind my “don’t” list is not a don’t ever.  You just don’t want to wear these items when the goal is a long leg.  I also avoid t-strap shoes.  Basically any shoe that cuts across the ankle is going to cut off the leg.  This includes booties.  One last tip for a long leg look, point your toes.  It sounds silly but it really does work.  I pointed toe will give you a much longer look than a flexed foot.

Of course these tips won’t actually make you taller but they’ll help you achieve a long lean look.  Try it out and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

