Shira’s Strawberry Sauce – Quick, Easy, and Delicious

Back away from the mystery gel with red food coloring.  Homemade strawberry sauce is so easy to make.  I like to make strawberry sauce to top my dairy free vanilla ice cream (also easy to make) but you can use it on your favorite cake or even in a pie.  It’s really as easy as 1-2-3.

The simplest recipe simply calls for strawberries (fresh or frozen), brown sugar, and vanilla extract.  It’s that easy.  I’ve made it with additions like sweet wine but that’s optional.  The basic recipe is simply delicious on it’s own.

The first thing I do is add sliced strawberries to a heated pan.  I have my pan on medium heat.

SAM_1125

 

Next, I add brown sugar to taste.  This will melt into a beautiful syrup.  I add two drops of vanilla extract and let it simmer; then cool.  That’s it! My strawberry sauce is ready to serve.

SAM_1126SAM_1127

Now doesn’t that look better than that red chemical in a jar they sell in the grocery store.

SAM_1128SAM_1129

 

One thought on “Shira’s Strawberry Sauce – Quick, Easy, and Delicious

Leave a Reply

