Banana Pancakes – Dairy and Gluten Free

Nothing says “Good Morning” like pancakes.  In my quest to become gluten-free I had to revamp plenty of recipes, pancakes being one of them.   This is how I make gluten and dairy free banana pancakes.  I use rice flour or a rice flour blend (whichever is in my kitchen), along with non dairy milk (almond or coconut), apple sauce, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking powder, vanilla extract, and of course bananas.

ingredients

Now remember I don’t measure…This is something you are either going to love or hate about the way I cook.  I took a picture of the measuring cup with only the rice flour though.  That should help.  I only made three pancakes.  You can do the math.

I started off by mixing my dry ingredients; rice flour, a dash of cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, and about a teaspoon of baking powder.

dry 1dry

After I mixed the dry ingredients I added a drop of vanilla.  Then I added applesauce and milk.  Now this is important.  The consistency of the batter should not be loose like a pure liquid but you don’t want it too thick either.  It should move slowly when poured.  If you’re new to this; alternate adding the applesauce in milk until the consistency is right.

batterbanana1

Next pour batter into pan or skillet until it is the desired size.  I cooked my pancakes in peanut oil.  I like to slice my bananas and lie them in the batter as it cooks.  The pancake is ready to flip when it starts to bubble.  Make sure there are bubbles in both the center of the batter and around the edges to avoid flipping too early.

bubbleflip

And that’s it! Enjoy these pancakes with your favorite toppings; syrup, fruit butter, or even peanut butter.

plate

Leave a Reply

