Meatless Meatballs

I have a confession.  You may remember my boast of my meatless meatballs being better than yours…well at the time of the boast I hadn’t actually made meatless meatballs.  This past weekend I decided to make good on that boast and I did not disappoint.

Let me start by saying there are countless ways to make meatless meatballs.  Of course there are a variety of “meats” to use and then there are countless preparation methods.  I choose to use eggplant as my “meat.” I could not be more pleased with the result.  So here’s what I did.  I washed and peeled my eggplant.   Then I cubed it and cooked in a pan with olive oil.

mm2

I waited for the “meat” to soften before removing from my pan and running the knife over it again. (You may want to use a food processor.  I prefer to play with sharp objects.)  Next I made a blend of seasonings.  Use your favorites.  I kept it simple with sea salt, black pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, and italian seasoning. 
mm3
Now here’s the fun part.  I mixed everything in a bowl (I used egg beaters as my binder) and formed my meat balls.  I browned them in a pan and finished them in the oven with my favorite sauce and cheese.
mm4mm5mm6mm7New ImageNow doesn’t that look tasty 🙂

Leave a Reply

